A poem #6 – Some space to breathe again

Shower, shit , shave, everyday, it’s all the same,
endlessly looping frame by frame.
Shirt, tie, shoes shined,
a badge so I don’t forget my name.
It reads “insignificance”,
but what’s the difference anyway?

I ponder my life’s choices with a sting of regret,
and pray for a dosage to make me forget.
The same job, the same commute,
tired dreams, the same pursuit.
The grey rut in which I’m stuck, I yearn to buck the trend,
I yearn to find my happiness, some space to breathe again.

Office, desk, slave, everyday, nothing’s changed,
revolving bleakly day by day,
Clock watching, slows the time,
a mirror so I don’t forget my face.
insignificant, unrecognisable,
what’s it matter anyway?

I sit anxiously, yellow fingers, shaking, sweats,
bent almost double, choking on a cigarette.
The same pub, the same walls,
lower heights, the same falls.
The time has come to make a change, I yearn to buck the trend,
I yearn to find my happiness, some space to breathe again.

JP Collins

Leave a Reply

