A poem #9 – For you, my darling wife

This day today marks one year away,
from a time that I dearly miss.
One year away from our parting words,
from a day that we sealed with a kiss.

This day today marks one year away,
from a time for oft that I wish.
Before the anguish, our beating hearts,
duped by a lovers’ twist.

This day today marks one year on,
from the last time I held you close.
From the stillness of your breath and bones,
naught but memories and ghosts.

This day today marks one year on,
a celebration of your life.
A song in my heart to spread joy in the world,
for you, my darling wife.

JP Collins

2 thoughts on “A poem #9 – For you, my darling wife

Leave a Reply

