A poem #11 – So I may gather up my thoughts

This clock it keeps on ticking,
I pray make it stop,
and halt the world for just a second,
so I may gather up my thoughts.

Let me step off and stand by,
I need some time to think,
to lift the world up off its knees,
and myself back from the brink.

This clock it keeps on ticking,
I’m drowning between its tocks.
Swept away by currents strong,
and smashed against the rocks.

My memories diminish,
lost to the sands of time.
I’m grasping at the darkness,
for a simple grain to hold divine.

This clock it keeps on ticking,
I’m running out of luck,
and the older I become,
the quicker it speeds up.

I try to hold on with all my might,
but confusion fills my bones.
I beg of you your help,
that my mind won’t be alone.

This clock it keeps on ticking,
I pray make it stop,
and halt the world for just a second,
so I may gather up my thoughts.

JP Collins

Leave a Reply

