A poem #12 – My dreams are mountains

I chase my dreams like a cat upon shadows,
and fruition is always beseeched,
although I cry with a voice so loud,
there is never an ear to meet.

I chase my dreams with passion and vigour,
but at every hurdle I fall,
for my dreams are mountains set out before me,
so vast and wide and tall.

I chase my dreams, fervently,
but I know not what to do,
I grasp at them with desperate fingers,
but they always slip right through.

Oh, stop disheartening me,
cease this endless tease,
for everytime I stand up tall,
you bring me to my knees.

For faithful hopes I seek,
but false they appear to be,
crumbling like dust in my hands,
and intent on mocking me.

I must stand up and find my strength,
I must not fall,
for my dreams are mountains set out before me,
so vast and wide and tall.

JP Collins

Leave a Reply

