A free verse #1 – Thick fog and a screaming baby

You crashed into a car in front of me.
The crunch of metal
against metal
sending shivers
down my spine.
I braked hard,
and stopped short;
time stopped with us.
Thick fog cloaked the wreckage.
When it had cleared,
you were standing by the side of the road,
your baby
screaming as you cradled her
in your arms;
your body
desperately trying
to tell her she was safe,
but she could only sense your fear.

I wanted so badly to get out and help you,
but with half of London pressing at my door
I had to drive on by.

JP Collins

Leave a Reply

