Let me down

I know one day I will die

and cease to be

and nothing but the eternal cloak of darkness

will envelope me

and I will always know until my final breath

that you let me down

second best to that smile

and second best to that frown

but I keep pressing for more

to somehow break that glass

that separates us

into a thousand peices

shattered on the floor

that I might be with you

and be the one you go to

without hesitation

in a crowded room

oblivious to everyone else

to be your world

but I am nothing

along side the fray of other interests

and so you always let me down

from the shadows

at the corner of the room

another drink to stay the hunger

another cigarette to stay the pain

and the anger I feel wells up inside

and pours from my eyes

that I will never be someone

who is worth that much of your time

or your smiles

or your frowns

or much of my own

for that matter

JP Collins

2 thoughts on “Let me down

Leave a comment